“Creamy” Spinach Walnut Pasta

24 Jan

Okay, so I first found this recipe–or the inspiration for this recipe–at Eat Me, Delicious, which is a vegetarian but often vegan-friendly site where I found a recipe for Peanut Butter Pasta that I love.  This recipe, though, is also one of my favorites!  But since I’ve stopped eating dairy, too, I had to replace the cottage cheese and omit the Parmesan entirely, since I had no Italian-style faux cheeses on hand (except for sandwich slices, which–surprise!–don’t do food processors especially well, even when sliced up smaller.)

To keep the creaminess, I added silken tofu, and to account for the cheesiness, a little nutritional yeast.

This is a great recipe if you’re looking for some protein!  I can’t speak to how this version will reheat, though I will probably find out one day and make a edit here.

Sorry for the lack of pictures–my omni boyfriend and I ate it all :3

Recipe after the cut.

“Creamy” Spinach Walnut Pasta

Special equipment: Food processor, vegetable steamer

300 g frozen spinach (note: this is about two plastic baggies of spinach at the supermarket)
1/2 cup toasted walnuts, coarsely chopped
2 cups silken tofu, any kind is fine (I used Nasoya)
4 garlic cloves, minced (the original calls for less garlic, but I love garlic!)
1/4 cup freeze dried basil (or a few leaves from your plants–I used 7-8)
1 tsp salt (you can use less, I know my boy loves salty things)
ground black pepper to taste
1 tablespoon of nutritional yeast
1/2 teaspoon of paprika

1 lb whole wheat pasta (I suggest rotini)

Bring two pots of water to boil–one pot should be a large 4-quart pot, filled for pasta cooking, and another should be a saucepan filled with only a little water (for steaming).  Wash the spinach and put it on the steamer; cook for about five minutes.  While you’re waiting, chop up garlic, basil, and nuts and assemble spices, nutritional yeast, and silken tofu.

Note: If you are making the recipe as listed, and you are like me and have a tiny food processor, you may want to do this in batches!  I halved the recipe when I made it, and it fed two very hungry people to satisfaction.

Toss in the pasta when the water comes to a rolling boil.  Assemble all other ingredients in the food processor and pulse until relatively smooth.  Set aside until pasta finishes cooking.  At this point, mix and serve!

Leave a Reply

