One-Bowl Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

22 Jan

Okay, so, for my first post, I guess it makes perfect sense that I upload something sweet and dessert-y.  I love to cook these days, but when I was little, for years, I only baked.  Which makes sense, because I have a sweet tooth as big as lion incisors.  Of course, I kept it when I went vegan.

In any event, my very, very favorite type of cookie when I was eating dairy things still was my mother’s recipe for peanut butter chocolate chip cookies.  I still remember our companion dog (who was just a puppy then!) licking the paper/foil top of a can of Jif that was just opened, but sticking her tongue to it each time, so that she licked and stamped it all around the kitchen.  Suffice to say, I have been making these since I needed two stepstools to reach the counter.  Now they’re vegan and Jif and egg-free!

Oh, and you can make them in one bowl.  No sifting, no delicately mixing.  These will take you ~15 minutes to get into the oven, and 7-10 once they’re in.

One-Bowl Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Special equipment: Hand mixer

1/2 cup (one stick) of vegan margarine (I used Earth Balance)
1/2 cup creamy natural peanut butter
1/2 cup raw sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 flaxseed egg (see note)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup flour
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips–look out for chocolate chips with milk solids in them!  Besides obviously not being vegan, there is no reason to have milk solids in semisweet chocolate chips.  If this is the case, they are milk chocolates.

Note about flaxseed eggs: Some people think they taste kind of granola-y, but I honestly don’t taste them in nutty cookies (like this) or oat-based cookies.  You may want to look for other egg substitutes when making, say, a batch of brownies.  Personally, I like flaxseed “eggs” because I have a big bag of golden flaxseed, a spice grinder I got as a present, and access to water.  To make a flaxseed egg: In a spice grinder like this one (always grind coffee in a burr grinder with multiple settings!), combine 1 tablespoon of golden flaxseed with 3 tablespoons of water.  Grind until gelatinous.  (You can use pre-ground flaxseed, but I find that whole seeds keep better.)

Preheat the oven to 350F, and set your timer somewhere between 7-10 minutes.  My oven runs hot, so I stick to 8.

Let the margarine sit for a minute to soften.  You can pre-grind the flax egg while you’re doing this–time management, people!  Put it and the 1/2 cup of peanut butter into the bowl, and smash up the margarine with a spoon.  This will make it slightly easier to blend your creamy things.  Use the hand mixer to cream the margarine and peanut butter.

Measure and add sugars–both–and beat with the hand mixer again.  Add the flax egg and vanilla, then beat more.

Now, retire your hand mixer and add all other non-chocolate-chip ingredients (flour, salt, baking soda) and mix until integrated with a spoon.  Add the chocolate chips last.

Grease a cookie sheet and drop by spoonful onto the sheet.  Roll these lumps of dough into balls and flatten with your fingers into small disks of moderate thickness.

Again, bake for 7-10 minutes–know your oven!

Let cool briefly on the cookie sheets, then transfer to wire racks to complete the process. Remember, cookies are done when the tops start to crack and turn brown.  They should NOT be hard coming out of the oven–they will set as they cool, even though my boyfriend will not let them.

One Response to “One-Bowl Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Back to Basics, Part 2: Oat-Flour Chocolate Chip Cookies | Omnivegan - 18 February 2012

    […] chip cookies are the flat-out easiest cookies, ever.  You don’t even need two bowls!  See?  Also, it would have been easier if the original recipe did not turn out a batter the consistency […]

Leave a Reply

